Hessian Barracks | Restoration
Built between 1778 and 1782, the Hessian Barracks was originally a prison for captured German soldiers during the Revolution. Throughout the 19th century, the site served as a state armory, Civil War hospital, and a county fairgrounds. Lewis restored the historic building to serve as a museum which exhibits Civil War memorabilia and weaponry.
Work on this project was managed by the State of Maryland Department of General Services (DGS) with oversight by the Maryland Historical Trust (MHT). Preconstruction involved several months of extensive coordination with historic regulatory agencies such as MHT and extensive forensic efforts to investigate the historic building’s existing conditions. The two-story stone structure, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, underwent numerous historically accurate restorations to its exterior including the installation of a unique side-lap oak shingle roof to mimic the original, construction of four new replica fireplaces and associated chimney structures, and emergency repairs to the stone exterior.